northampton area school district



Text Box: A Capsule of the Board of Education’s Deliberations and Actions
Regular Board Meeting 
January 10, 2011 
(Unofficial Summary Subject to Revision)









At the regular meeting of the Board of Education, the Board approved the following:


·        Resignation William Walakovits, Boys and Girls Assistant Swimming Coach, effective December 18, 2010.

·        Extension of unpaid childrearing leave for Meghan Lloyd for the 3rd marking period of the 2010-2011 school year, on or about March 30, 2011.

·        Resignation of Raechel Gross from the position Grade 5 Elementary Teacher, effective January 21, 2011.

·        The following additions to the District Volunteer master listing for the 2010-2011 school year:


NAME                                                 SCHOOL

Jonathan Holota                                    Athletic

                                    Robert Madden                                    Band


·        Additions and deletions to the Substitute List.

·        Revised list of spring head coaches and assistant coaches with their designated stipends, in accordance with the current collective bargaining agreement, for the 2010-2011 school year, effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, for the appropriate sport season.

·        11-07 - Jamie Rockwell, LTS Special Education Teacher at George Wolf Elementary, effective on or about January 31, 2011, through the end of the 2010-2011 school year.  Her per diem rate will be $234.87, without benefits, based on a Bachelor’s degree and Step 1, Year 1 of the current salary schedule.

·        Frank Kloiber at the pro-rated substitute teacher rate of $14.81 per hour to assist in the after-school remediation/EAP reading program.  The effective date is January 11, 2011 through March 31, 2011. Mr. Kloiber’s salary will be paid by the EAP Grant.

·        Adjustment for Tina Ventresca to long-term per diem substitute status, with the per diem rate of $239.13, based on Step 1 of the Bachelor’s +15 column of the collective bargaining agreement.  Her effective date is retroactive to November 8, 2010, until the end of her present assignment, which is March 30, 2011.

·        Phyllis Berry, Third Shift Custodian at the High School, effective January 17, 2011.  Her rate of pay will be $16.02 per hour, 80% of the current hourly rate, in accordance with the collective bargaining agreement, with benefits.

·        Lynn Tepes, Cafeteria Monitor at Siegfried Elementary, effective January 11, 2011Her rate of pay will be $10.12 per hour, no benefits, in accordance with the collective bargaining agreement.

·   Adoption and/or revision of the following policies, effective January 11, 2011: 103 – Nondiscrimination in School and Classroom Practices, 122 – Cocurricular/Noncurricular Activities, 440 - Responsibility for Student Welfare, 826 – Record Retention, and 915 - School-Related

Groups/Boosters/Support/Parent Organizations.  Approve the deletion of the following policies, effective January 11, 2011:  121 – Extracurricular/Co-Curricular Activities, 122 - Organization of School Related Groups (6:19), and 122 - Charters for Clubs, Organizations, and Teams (6:20).  Approve the deletion of Attachments #1 and #2 in Policies 354, 454 and 554 - Pre-Employment Drug Testing, effective January 11, 2011.

·        2009-10 Audit Report as prepared by the local auditors, Gorman & Associates.

·        Reimbursement Resolution for the Middle School Project as required under Section 1.150-2 of the Federal Income Tax Regulations.

·        Bills for Payment

·        2010-2011 Budget Transfers

·   Expulsion Hearing Waiver for High School student number 2010-15.

·      Step Team Club be allowed to organize and meet under the direction of Mrs. Anna Zawierucha and at no expense to the District.

·  Expulsion Hearing Waiver for High School student number 2010-16.